Do you need a Boating License in Maryland? Maryland law requires boat safety education for all boat and PWC operators who were born after July 1, 1972.Click to see full answer. Also know, do I need a Maryland boating license?Anyone under the age of 16 operating a motorized vessel 11 feet in length or greater without a valid boating safety certificate, must be under the supervision of an individual 18 years of age or older who possesses a valid boating safety certificate or an individual born before July 1, 1972.One may also ask, how do you get a boating license in Maryland? An official Maryland boating safety education certificate may be obtained by completing an approved boating safety course or passing an equivalent exam. The Natural Resources Police, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, the BoatUS Foundation and U.S. Power Squadrons all offer an approved course. Beside this, do you need a boaters license to rent a boat in Maryland? Anyone born after July 1, 1972 may NOT operate a motorized vessel, including personal watercraft, unless they have obtained a certificate of boating safety education approved by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. PWC operators must be at least 16 years of age and possess a boating safety certificate.How much is a Maryland boating license?You can obtain your Maryland Boating Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps: Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam. Study the Maryland Boating Safety Course.