Virginia’s current law requires only repeat drunken-driving offenders or those convicted with a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or higher to have an ignition interlock device in their car. The device also requires random “rolling retests” once the driver is on the road.Click to see full answer. Just so, how much does an ignition interlock device cost in Virginia?Every person convicted of DUI now must have an interlock installed on their vehicle. Installation fees are up to $65 but are usually waived in VA and you are charged the first months calibration fee. The monthly fee to have the machine on your car is $80 (not including taxes or insurance). how do I avoid an ignition interlock device? Get Your Device Installed Today If you want to avoid a device violation, simply: Don’t attempt to drive drunk. Don’t tamper with the device. Don’t drive without installing an interlock device. Likewise, people ask, can I drive without an interlock in another state? Ensure that your license permits you to cross state lines. Driving out of state does not grant permission to drive without your IID. If you are caught driving without the device intact, you will find yourself facing more serious consequences.How long do you have to have a breathalyzer in your car?The length of time the states require an ignition interlock device range all the way from six months to ten years for habitual drunk drivers.